pictures of ships  


you are here

you are here:


 to section

corporate information

 to section

board of directors

Board of Directors

This page contains a list of the Directors of the Company and those who served as Directors at any time during the year ended 28th February 2005 are listed below.

Non-executive Directors

Sir Graham Hearne (67) Chairman
A qualified solicitor, he was formally chairman of Enterprise Oil plc. He is non-executive chairman of Catlin Group Limited, non-executive deputy Chairman of Gallaher Group PLC and non-executive director of N M Rothschild and Sons Ltd.


R.D. Agutter (63)
A qualified chartered accountant, he was a senior corporate finance partner in KPMG, a firm of public accountants. He is the senior independent non-executive director.


J.S. Denholm (49)
A qualified chartered accountant, he is Chairman of J&J Denholm Limited and the Anglo Eastern Management Group Limited. His other directorships include the Baltic International Maritime Council and the Chamber of Shipping Limited.


D.G.Moorhouse (57) (appointed 19 January 2005)
He is currently Executive Chairman of Lloyd’s Register. Until recently he was an advisor on technology exports to the DTI and deputy chairman of the UK’s Foundation for Science and Technology. Formerly he was Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Kvaerner Process, Chairman and Chief Executive of Trafalgar, John Brown and a director of John Brown Plc.

Executive Directors

A.R.W. Marsh (56) Chief Executive

Originally employed by H. Clarkson & Co as a broker from 1968. He was appointed to their board in 1977. He was a founder member of Braemar Shipbrokers Limited in 1983, initially being the Company’s managing director and in 1991 he became that company’s chairman and appointed Chief Executive of Braemar Seascope Group plc in March 2001. He is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Shipbrokers and a director of ITIC Ltd, the professional and indemnity club for ship agents, ship brokers and ship managers.

J.R.V. Kidwell (44) Finance Director

He joined the company in July 2002. He qualified as a chartered accountant with Price Waterhouse in 1988, and then worked in a number of financial roles for Carlton Communications PLC between 1989 and 2001, leaving as Group Financial Controller. Finance Director of Boosey & Hawkes Music Publishers Limited until June 2002.


D. Petropoulos (50) Executive Director

Denis Petropoulos has responsibility for the Group’s tanker chartering activities, encompassing deep-sea crude and clean product, gas, chemicals and specialised tanker chartering. He has worked in tanker chartering all his professional life and was a founding director of Braemar Tankers Limited which was acquired by Braemar Seascope in 2001. He is joint managing director of Braemar Seascope Limited, the Group’s principal shipbroking subsidiary.


Q. Soanes (51) Executive Director

Quentin Soanes has responsibility for business development in the Group. He is also Chairman of the Group’s wholly-owned subsidiaries, Cory Brothers Shipping Agency Limited and DV Howells Limited. He has worked as a sale and purchase shipbroker for most of his professional life and was a founding director of Braemar Shipbrokers Limited, which merged with Seascope Shipping Holdings PLC in 2001 to form Braemar Seascope Group PLC. He is joint managing director of Braemar Seascope Limited.

site stats